Grace Hamilton to skipper new-look Wallaroos

Photo: J.B Photography


The Wallaroos will have a new on-field leader when they take on Japan in a historic two-test Series in Australia next month, with NSW backrower Grace Hamilton today named as captain.

With 11 tests under her belt, Hamilton -who hails from Orange – was a logical choice given her performances on the field, and her passion for the national jersey.

“Grace is going to make a fantastic captain in 2019, she’s passionate about this team, passionate about Rugby, has a strong drive to win and to set high standards,” said head coach Dwayne Nestor. “Humble and hardworking she embodies what we want this team to be about, and I know she will be supported by a strong leadership team.”

With just over three weeks to go before the first test against Japan in Newcastle, Nestor has trimmed his squad down to 29 players. The majority have been drawn from the Buildcorp Super W competition, in particular, from the two teams that contested another thrilling grand final earlier this year.

Nine players have been selected from the triumphant NSW Waratahs Women’s side, with 12 from their Queensland counterparts, and there are 11 debutants ready to take their first steps on the international stage too -including Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea, Sera Naiqama and South Australian, Eva Karpani.

“I’d like to congratulate every player on being selected in the squad for what is going to be a massive series against Japan this July,” said Nestor. “There were some really difficult selections to be made, but that is a testament to the work ethic of the extended squad, and the real depth we are growing following on from the second season of Buildcorp Super W. 

“The hard work is only just beginning, as we have a massive opportunity this year with the Tests scheduled, and I know the squad is looking forward to getting into camp in Newcastle on July 6.”  

Millie Boyle, Royals (Canberra), Queensland Women’s XV
Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women
Grace Hamilton (c), Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Alisha Hewett, GPS/ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV
Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women
Asoiva (Eva) Karpani*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women
Michaela Leonard*, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Kiri Lingman, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Ashley Marsters, Box Hill, Melbourne Rebels Women
Shannon Mato*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Averyl Mitchell*, Souths, Queensland Women’s XV
Sera Naiqama*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women’s XV
Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Christina Sekona*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV

Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women
Georgia Cormick*, Powerhouse, Melbourne Rebels Women
Lori Cramer*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV
Ariana Hira-Herangi*, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women
Chloe Leaupepe, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Arabella McKenzie*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women
Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women
Asako Ono*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV
Trilleen Pomare, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women
Sarah Riordan, Wests/ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV
Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
*Denotes Uncapped


Saturday 13 July
Australia v Japan, Newcastle Sportsground Number 2, Newcastle
Friday 19 July
Australia v Japan, North Sydney Oval, Sydney
Saturday 10 August 
Australia v New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth
Saturday 17 August
Australia v New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland

Matches to be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS and Kayo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s