Rookie Holloway named in Wallaby squad for Bledisloe 3 in Japan

Photo: Karen Watson


It’s taken longer than expected due to an injury-hampered couple of seasons, but Southern Districts and NSW Waratahs loose forward Jed Holloway has finally got the Wallabies call-up his talents promised when he first burst onto the Super Rugby scene for New South Wales.

The 25-year-old comes in to the squad named by Michael Cheika yesterday, for next weekend’s third Bledisloe Cup clash of the year with New Zealand in Yokohama. He takes his place at the expense of Caleb Timu, who has been given a recovery break for the rest of the international season. Holloway joins Angus Cottrell and Jake Gordon as the only uncapped players in the squad, while Jack Dempsey makes a welcome return to the international fold.

Man-of-the-Match when Australia downed the All Blacks last October, Dempsey has been out of action for almost a year after suffering a hamstring injury playing for the Wallabies against the Barbarians a few weeks after that trans-Tasman triumph. He is joined off the treatment table by bustling Queensland Reds centre Samu Kerevi, who has recovered from a bicep injury.

Cheika spoke to media yesterday about the importance of playing in Japan; Kerevi’s return; the chance for Holloway; the reasons for Timu’s omission; and how he feels about recent results.

Video footage courtesy of Rugby AU


The game could also see a milestone achievement for prop Sekope Kepu, who will join the illustrious list of George Gregan, Stephen Moore, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Nathan Sharpe, George Smith, Matt Giteau, Stephen Larkham and David Campese as the ninth Wallaby centurion if he takes the field. But as that list will tell you, even more impressively he’ll be the first prop to reach the century mark.

Rugby fans are in for a double treat with the game to be shown live on FoxSports at 5pm on Saturday 27th October, straight after the conclusion of the NRC grand final, coverage of which begins at 2.30pm.

The Bledisloe Cup clash is also screening live and free in HD on TEN and WIN Network, and streaming on

The squad for the Spring Tour of Europe that will see fixtures against Wales, Italy and England, will be announced after the game in Yokohama.


Qantas Wallabies 31-man squad for third Bledisloe Cup clash against New Zealand to be played at Nissan Stadium, Yokohama on Saturday 27th October at 5pm AEDT. 

Forwards: Jermaine Ainsley (1 Test, Melbourne Rebels, 23); Allan Alaalatoa (29 Tests, Brumbies, 24); Rory Arnold (18 Tests , Brumbies, 28); Adam Coleman (28 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 26); Angus Cottrell* (uncapped, Melbourne Rebels, 28); Jack Dempsey (6 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 24); Folau Fainga’a (5 Tests, Brumbies, 23); Ned Hanigan (17 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 23); Jed Holloway* (uncapped, NSW Waratahs, 25); Michael Hooper (c) (87 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 26); Sekope Kepu (99 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 32)
Tolu Latu (9 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 25); Brandon Paenga-Amosa (4 Tests, Queensland Reds, 22); David Pocock (74 Tests, Brumbies, 30); Izack Rodda (13 Tests, Queensland Reds, 22); Rob Simmons (90 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29); Scott Sio (51 Tests, Brumbies, 27); Taniela Tupou (8 Tests, Queensland Reds, 22)

Backs: Tom Banks (2 Tests, Brumbies, 24); Kurtley Beale (80 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29); Israel Folau (69 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29); Bernard Foley (64 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29); Will Genia (96 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 30); Jake Gordon* (uncapped, NSW Waratahs, 25); Dane Haylett-Petty (27 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 29); Reece Hodge (33 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 24); Samu Kerevi (21 Tests, Queensland Reds, 25); Marika Koroibete (17 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 26); Jack Maddocks (5 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 21); Sefa Naivalu (7 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 26); Nick Phipps (69 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29) *denotes uncapped

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s